State Change with momentary contact button

Total newbie to Arduino and programming, not electronics. I have the starter kit and I'm learning fast.

End goal is to build a Watt meter converting volts to Watts at a specific load.

I was able to put together a simple program to convert a small analog test voltage to Watts and have it print out on the serial monitor with the choice of loads. However, this being Arduino, I would like to have the momentary button switch between the two loads, possibly three loads. I assembled some code and I have issues. The serial data no longer runs continuous and the state does not stay locked. I'm hoping to post the code and gain some knowledge of some group members.

I think I am having issues understanding where things are placed for the if / else. Any details and help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Dave

const int sensorPin = A0; // analog input
const int buttonPin = 2; // the pin that the pushbutton is attached to (digital 2)
int buttonState = 0; // current state of the button
int lastButtonState = 0; // previous state of the button

void setup() {
// put your setup code here, to run once:
Serial.begin(9600); //opens the serial port
pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT); // initialize the button pin as a input

}

void loop() {
int sensorVal = analogRead(sensorPin); // defines sensorVal for formula (analog pin A0 called sensorPin)
buttonState = digitalRead(buttonPin); // read digital pin 2
if (buttonState != lastButtonState) {

if (buttonState == 1) {

int sensorVal = analogRead(sensorPin);
Serial.print("Watts @ 8 Ohms:");

//convert the ADC reding to voltage
float watts = ((sq((sensorVal/1024.0) * 20.0)) / 8); //ADC conversion, sq of volts and divide by 8(ohms). 20.0 is just a value to make #s large enough
//'voltage' is just the name for the value out
Serial.print(" Watts: "); //This identifies the field name of watts
Serial.println(watts, 4); //display of watts answer / calculation. The 4 after watts is for number of decimal points.

}