Steampunk Gun - Advice?

Hey guys, total arduino newbie here. Long story short, I'm a student using a 321Maker Shield on a Leonardo board and it's time for my final project.
In short, I'm wanting to make a steampunk blaster gun using only the materials (hopefully!) that my kit came with. I'm essentially making this: Pin by Boo ❤️ on Cosplay Tutorials | Steampunk accessories, Steampunk cosplay, Steampunk crafts

My main idea is that pushing SW1 will make the sound of the gun being shot if the trigger is pulled. And I'd love to get SW2 to make a recharging sound when pushed. I'll probably throw a red LED into that too. Ideally, I want it to be battery run and not connected to my computer... does this sound doable? Has anyone seen a similar project? I'm feeling rather overwhelmed with the possibilities at the moment!

That is absolutely doable. First thing I would personally suggest is possibly investing (they are extremely cheap) in an Arduino nano. A much smaller package, just as easy to upload to and all the same capabilities. This would make the project significantly easier to fit inside of your gun. As for the sounds and LED, could you be more specific in what you are asking? No one here will write the code for you, but if you start a sketch and add it here, someone can certainly help guide you a bit. Unfortunately, you haven't posed much of a question besides "will this work?"

Actually it's the Micro that is the same as the Leonardo, but smaller. They both use the ATMega32u4 chip, so the usb capabilities are built in.

Here is a you-tube lesson on sound effects with an Arduino. That is how I would do blaster noises.

Thank you guys, that's a really helpful start!

Primarily, my question was the it's do-ability. From there, what I had meant with the LED was I could definitely keep the pin lit while the buttons are pushed - would you suggest coding the LED or the buttons first? Does it matter?

AliCat: