Steering between waypoints

I am a beginner at Arduino & programming and need some help please. I would like to steer a model boat to a waypoint then return to the start point. I have written a sketch to work out the waypoint lat & long, from any starting point given the distance required to travel (from a potentiometer), and a reading from a hmc6352 compas. Now I need the following: 1/ How to identify when the GPS has a valid lock (before the waypoint calculations are started). 2/ How to steer to the waypoint. 3/ How to set the waypoint recognition radius (ie just have to a few meters away is OK).

I am using some of the tiny GPS code. Is this able to get the required valid lock data from the GPS? Thanks.

1/ How to identify when the GPS has a valid lock (before the waypoint calculations are started).

Typically, the GPS doesn't begin sending data until it has a lock. Of course, we don't know whether that is the case with your GPS, since you said nothing about it.

2/ How to steer to the waypoint.

You know where you are. You know where you need to go. From that, you know the direction you need to go. From the compass, you know which way you are going. It should be relatively simple to set the appropriate pins high(er) or low(er) to make that happen. Of course, you told us nothing about the mechanism for steering the boat, so no specifics can't be provided.

3/ How to set the waypoint recognition radius (ie just have to a few meters away is OK).

Only you know how close is close enough, and whether going beyond the waypoint is required. The GPS will continue to provide actual position information, so you should know how far you are from the waypoint.