Stepper control with potentiometer and buttons.

Hi there!

I am a newbie in the amazing world of Arduino.

So, please be kind with me, for my simple (and maybe stupid) queries.

The project that I have in mind is to control speed and direction of a stepper motor (nema17) with Easydriver.

Well, the whole project is with a pontetiometer and 4 buttons:

• Set a value of speed/steps from a pontetiometer.

• Start/stop pushbutton or switch.

• That value I have set, double it (x2) with a pushbutton or switch.

• Same, but x16.

• Change direction for the above speeds with a pushbutton or switch.

I have seen many videos and tutorials with similar projects, but I still can't figure out what I must do with the code.

I have in mind that I have to set the value in the setup mode and set α variable for that speed (from the pontetiometer), and then in the loop to take that value and change it with the buttons with "if" and "else".

I will appreciate any advice,
Thank you.

a stepper motor (nema17)

But what color is it?

Set a value of speed/steps from a pontetiometer.

Which is it? Speed (time between steps) or number of steps?

but I still can't figure out what I must do with the code.

There are several things that you CAN work on.
Read the potentiometer and store the value.
Read the state of each switch.
Has the state changed?

As you get each bit working, perhaps you requirements will solidify in your mind, and you can then build a complete program. Right now, your requirements are too vague to turn into a working program.

For instance, should the speed of the motor change when the 16x switch is pressed while the stepper is moving? Or should the stepper complete the series of steps at the current speed?