stepper motor+arduino motor shield R +LCD display problems working simultaneosly

Hello all,
i am a newbie in the field of arduino. i was trying to control a stepper motor(with 27:1 gear ratio)(details of the motor link) with 3 buttons (1 to move it clockwise a specified number of steps, another to move it anti clockwise the same number of steps and another button to take the stepper back to the home postion from the current position).The motor is used to tilt an L bracket that could carry a load.The aim is to tilt the bracket and the load its holds by 5 degrees every time a button is pressed.Currently I have succeeded in getting all the 3 buttons do their specified job… However when LCD(LCM1602C) is used along with this set up a problem arises. even the basic hallo word program fails .All i get is some weird special characters. I am pretty sure the connections are fine… as the motor part alone (LCD part of code commented)and the LCD part alone works perfectly fine.

Could some one kindly advice me on how to proceed.

i am also posting my code along with the post.
Kind regards

#include <Stepper.h>                                  // Including the stepper library
#include <LiquidCrystal.h>                             // Including the LCD library
const int stepsPerRevolution = 200;                     // Depends on the specific motor
// Has to be modified if the motor is altered
const int homeButton = 7;                                // Naming the arduino pins
const int cwSwitch = 19;                                    // Naming the arduino pins
const int ccwSwitch = 14;                                    // Naming the arduino pins
const int pwmA = 3;                                          // Naming the arduino pins
const int pwmB = 11;                                          // Naming the arduino pins
const int brakeA = 9;                                          // Naming the arduino pins