stepper motor control driver uno R3

hi guys.
im new to arduino and have a uno R3 board,controlling a 200 step, 12vdc, 0.4a stepper motor with a L293n driver assisted with bd139 transistors.
My aim is to control the speed, step amount and a delay in-between the steps for a label application m/c. (labels coming off a roll)'all controlled by knobs (pots).Later i suppose i’ll have to add a sensor to read the label postition (optical sensor)but for now ill leave that alone.
i’v been playing around and trying, following jigs on the net. but i cant really find something to get me started, its still alot of greek to me. i’v managed to get this going-

[code

#include <Stepper.h>

const int stepsPerRevolution = 200;  // change this to fit the number of steps per revolution
// for your motor

// initialize the stepper library on pins 8 through 11:
Stepper myStepper(stepsPerRevolution, 8, 9, 10, 11);

int stepCount = 0;  // number of steps the motor has taken

void setup() {
}
  // nothing to do inside the setup

void loop() {
  // read the sensor value:
int sensorReading = analogRead(A0);
  // map it to a range from 0 to 100:
int motorSpeed = map(sensorReading, 0, 1023, 0, 100);
  // set the motor speed:
  if (motorSpeed > 10) {
    myStepper.setSpeed(motorSpeed);
    // step 1/100 of a revolution:
    myStepper.step(stepsPerRevolution / 100);
  // set motor delay 2 sec
   myStepper.step(stepsPerRevolution);
delay(2000);
  }
}

][/code]

pls help will be much appreciated
artios

You need to tell us what actually happens when you try the code.

Post a link to the datasheet for your stepper motor.

Give details of the power supply for the motor (volts and amps).

The L298 is a poor choice for driving stepper motors. Have a look at Stepper Motor Basics

...R