Stepper Motor Control Using Four Push Buttons (Help)

Hi
I need help :confused: . I want to control a Nema17 stepper motor using an Easydriver and four push buttons.

Button 1 - Continuous forward
Button 2 - Stop
Button 3 - Stepped forward (See below)
Button 4 - continuous reverse

Basically it is to run an 8mm film projector project.

Could I please get help with the code to make this work? I’m a real novice and need help with the code for this.

Stepped forward Details:

int smDirectionPin = 2; //Direction pin
int smStepPin = 3; //Stepper pin

void setup(){
/Sets all pin to output; the microcontroller will send them(the pins) bits, it will not expect to receive any bits from thiese pins./
pinMode(smDirectionPin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(smStepPin, OUTPUT);

Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop(){
digitalWrite(smDirectionPin, HIGH); //Writes the direction to the EasyDriver DIR pin. (HIGH is clockwise).
/moderatly turns the motor 4800 steps - three revolutions/
for (int i = 0; i < 4800; i++){
digitalWrite(smStepPin, HIGH);
delayMicroseconds(130);
digitalWrite(smStepPin, LOW);
delayMicroseconds(130);
}

delay(500); //The motor pauses for a 0.5 seconds (the motor does not need to pause between switching direction, so you can safely remove this)

digitalWrite(smDirectionPin, HIGH); //Writes the direction to the EasyDriver DIR pin. (High is clockwise).
/Moderatley turns the motor 4800 steps - three revolutions/
for (int i = 0; i < 4800; i++){
digitalWrite(smStepPin, HIGH);
delayMicroseconds(130);
digitalWrite(smStepPin, LOW);
delayMicroseconds(130);
}

delay(500); //The motor pauses for a 0.5 seconds
}

If you need to be able to stop a movement in the middle then you should NOT use the delay() function or a FOR loop because both block the Arduino until it completes and prevent it from responding to another button press.

Just use a variable to keep count of the steps and allow loop() to do the repetition. That way your code can check the buttons between each step.