Stepper Motor Control with Closed Loop - Changing Frequency on the fly

Hello guys,
I have been posted on this forum some time ago. I am a mechatronic engineering student and I am starting a new project where I have to use a stepper motor with a pump module to dispense some liquid. For each stepper motor rotation, x mL of liquid are dispensed. Problem is that I want high accuracy on the volume dispensed. (i.e. 1%) Focus of the project is on the control, not on the stepper model. Moreover, pump module have mechanical tolerances among different parts and stepper can lose steps. So I want to compensate all those problems with the control.

I have succesfully programmed my arduino to give in output the STEP signal, managing the PWM register of Timer 2. This generates a precise frequency for my STEP signal. I have a sensor that close my loop and is telling me what is the actual flow rate. Goal is to integrate this information and continuously adjusting the frequency Timer 2 (I currently set it by OCR2A value) in order to adjust the flow rate towards the desired one.

Do you have any idea how I can dynamically change the OCR2A value at each step dynamically in my void loop? I want a kind of PID control. I read online that if you change the frequency on the fly while your pin is giving an output, it will affect the PWM. Each step you should stop the PWM, changing frequency and then restart the PWM. I am not sure about that. Do you guys have any recommendation or suggestion?

Thanks for whoever will take time to discuss!

You don't need PWM, CTC is sufficient and easier to control.

If your motor looses steps in microstepping mode then you should improve your hardware. Incrementing the step rate will decrease the motor force and thus can not help in overcoming an obstacle.

My frequency is high, around 30/35 kHz. That's why I am using that modality.

I am not actually microstepping. I am using my stepper in full step mode.

D10S: