Stepper motor driver. Protection and current limiting.

Hey,

I am quite new to the whole microprocessor idea with some general tinkering knowledge (GCSE Electonics...).

I am trying to get an A4988 driver to work "well" with a Nema 17 stepper motor in 1/16 steps.

I have had one running, but believe I somehow manage to break the driver, so ordered a few more.

The particular driver is here:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/190972210407?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649

And the Nema 17 here:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/231015892470?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649

I understand I have to limit the current to the motor somewhat when I want to run off a 3 cell LiPo by using the included on driver potentiometer. I understand that the max current of the driver is lower than that of the stepper.

The board however, was connected directly to the stepper with no "protection" as it were. I assume that is where I went wrong and managed to fry it with ENR (or voltage spike etc.).

Should I use say a 5v UBEC on the 3 cell LiPo and limit the current on the coils to 0.8A instead of the 12.6v-10v 3 cell voltage?
Is there a way I can dampen the power supply against spikes or should the UBEC provide enough protection from spikes?
Should I use an optoisolator or transitor between arduino and the driver?

Thanks for any help!

These devices have internal protection and are meant to connect directly to the motor. 3 Li-poly cells are well within the specified voltage range for the device.

How long did you run before failure? Did the motor operate correctly before failure? How hot was the motor at failure? Did you change any wiring? The device has thermal protection and will usually only be destroyed by a dead-short or incorrect wiring such as reversing polarity to the battery.

The current limiting pot is very useful for preventing overheating and inproving efficiency.

Joe