Stepper motor help needed

Hi all, basically I am a mechanical engineer and I can build anything mechanical and most arduino stuff but when I get some project in my head that goes past my knowledge Arduino base I am stumped

I have a CNC 3 axis I built that works great and makes lovely things, but I have a project I want to build with 5 stepper motors, this is for a moving archery targets I so want to get right

I have a few normal V3 stepper boards several Uno and Mega boards and several drivers from DRV8825 and TB6600 drivers and loads of kit including power supplies

but I can't find any way of controlling 5 stepper motors from 1 computer with a pre programmed schedule of motor movements

Maybe if I explain what I am attempting to do, imagine 5 items that I want to reveal and hide in turn, so that these can happen exactly the same every time, and when a set of movements have happened, the same range of movements and timing will be exactly the same every time it is run, hence my wish to use stepper motors for accuracy and speed control

Anyone help me ? I don't mind buying some new kit or shields if needed

Thanks everyone, stay safe & healthy

If you like the convenience of the CNC V3 board but need more than 3 (or 4) motors maybe consider a Ramps board (shield) and a Mega to run it. The Ramps shield holds drivers for 5 motors along with 2 MOSFETs to control loads and connections for limit switches, etc.

A class of the AccelStepper library called MultiStepper makes it easier to have several steppers with coordinated motions. The maximum speed of motions is limited with Multistepper because it does not use acceleration. That max speed is determined by the stepper, the driver and the voltage of the stepper power supply.

1 Like

You could also use my MobaTools lib. It can control up to 6 steppers simultaneously.
If you start them always with the same speed, acceleration and timing, the movements will be exactly the same.