Stepper motor on Arduino Mega digital pins

Hello, I would like you to confirm if I can use digital pins from the Arduino Mega to control Stepper Motors.

I read several forums and they say yes, but they don't explain how to do it. I am a newbie to Arduino.

These are the articles:

This page also explains it simply (in Arduino UNO): https://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/LibraryExamples/StepperSpeedControl
But, the ones on that last page only use a single digital pin which is 8.

I have 12 stepper motors, 3Nm. Arduino Mega. Driver DM542. 4.2 A, 48V.

So I want to use digital pins, because PWM is not enough.

Greetings.

raym3d:
So I want to use digital pins, because PWM is not enough.

PWM is not relevant for controlling stepper motors and the PWM pins are digital pins.

Just connect the Step pin of your driver to one of the Arduino I/O pins and connect the Direction pin of the driver to another Arduino I/O pin. Also connect the GNDs from the driver to the Arduino GND. When you cause a HIGH - LOW pulse on the step pin the motor will move one step. It's direction will be determined by whether the Direction pin is HIGH or LOW.

Try this Simple Stepper Code

...R
Stepper Motor Basics

Thank you for your answer, I already read the publications you made in:

But, something was not clear to me, how do I control the speed? That is, I already know that I can control EN, DIR, PUL with the digital pins, but, I did not understand the speed, I suppose that if I say that X number of steps in X time it would be a way to control the speed, or with some function Like the acceleration one, but, I would like you to tell me, since you have more experience.

Greetings.

If you look at my simple stepper code you will see a variable named millisBetweenSteps. That is the value which controls the speed. For example if you want 40 steps per second then you need 1 step every 25 milliseconds.