Stepper Motor Power Issues

Hi Guys, I am new to the Arduino community and purchased an Uno about a month ago. I am doing a project that involves the use of an old printer stepper motor.

Using this found from Arduino site (http://www.tigoe.net/pcomp/code/circuits/motors/stepper-motors/) I wired everything up using a L293D dual H-bridge and a bi-polar stepper from the printer. Everything was working perfect. I first used the 5 volt pin off the board for the motor supply, which I don't think was the correct thing to do, but it seemed to work just fine (only slow and not very powerful which I expected).

The stepper motor is rated for 24 volts so after I got all the code squared away I decided to use the old power supply from the printer. Sure enough it had a 24 volt DC rail so I put the + side of the rail directly into the H-Bridge chip (pin 8) and the - side to the common ground. This is when everything went south. When I turned it on the motor was just twitching, I burned up an H-Bridge chip, and now my Uno wont connect to the computer (but still powers up an all).

The specs on the H-Bridge says it can handle 36 volts. What did I do wrong?

(I am also by no means a electronic expert so I am sorry for improper terms/ silly comments)

Specs: Stepper Motor: M42SP-4N L293D dual H-bridge data sheet: http://www.futurlec.com/Others/L293.shtml Power supply: From printer, had 2 24volts rails (assuming 1 rail for each stepper), and a 5 volts rail.

Need pictures and schematics of how you had things hooked up. Other than that, the best we could say is that 'something' fried...

First you have to be careful with bipolar stepper motors, the voltage rating can be meaningless.

The parameters you must find are the current rating and the winding resistance (which you can measure).

Bipolar motors are usually driven with a constant-current chopper driver, and the voltage across the winding depends more on the motor rotation speed (back-EMF) than the IR-drop across the windings.