stepper motor project for blind people

Hello everyone, I’m pretty new in Arduino coding and this year at high school me and friends of me had to do a project for finals exams.
We choose to do a simple device, which will display braille caracters for blind people from a computer-entered text.
Basically, there is a wheel directly putted in the stepper motor (200 steps, unipolar) with 40 faces, and on every face there is a braille caracter.
My really big problem is I wish to put a detector (magnetic detector) to be sure that when I power on the device the stepper motor turn until it is on the “e” letter (reference letter, so the motor display good caracters). Then it turns to selected letters depend on what words you enter in serial console.
The motor turns, but don’t stop when it pass in front of detector. I’m in pain, I give you the code :

#include <Stepper.h>
#define STEPS 200
int oldR1 = 1; // variable de l'ancienne position de la roue 1
int nxtR1 = 0; // variable de la future position de la roue 1
int pos = 0;   // variable de position
int motIN = 0; // Sauvegarde l'octet entrant par le port série
int debut = 0;

int pin1 = 2;
int pin2 = 3;
int pin3 = 4;
int pin4 = 5;
int ledpin = 10;
int capt = 13;

Stepper step1(200 , pin1, pin2, pin3, pin4);

void setup() // fonction setup - début de l'exécution du programme
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(pin1, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(pin2, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(pin3, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(pin4, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(capt, INPUT);
  step1.setSpeed(100); 
  pinMode(ledpin, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(ledpin, HIGH);

}

void loop() // fonction loop - est exécutée en boucle 
               // une fois que la fonction setup a été exécutée
{
  if (digitalRead(capt == LOW))  
 {delay(100);
   while (digitalRead(capt == LOW))
 { step1.step(1);
 delay(100);
 }
 }

if (digitalRead(capt == HIGH))
 { 

debut == 1;
 }

while (debut == 1)
  {
    if (Serial.available() > 0)
    {
      motIN == Serial.read();