Stepper Motor Speed Controller

Hello all, I am needing some pretty serious help with my project. I am relatively new to stepper motors and drivers but I know how they operate and I know the basics. I am trying to make the motor turn at a velocity relative to the position of the knob on a potentiometer. I found the code on the arduino website and used that and I got it working on a Nema 23 motor and a smaller stepper driver while I was waiting for parts, but when I got my parts, that is when my problems started. I ordered the Nema 34 stepper from Stepperonline, I will post the links to the products at the end, and the 6 amp driver they paired the motor with on amazon also from stepperonline. Also, I am using a 24 volt 15 amp power supply and an Arduino Uno. When I hook up the system the same as with the smaller motor, I can hear the motor barely make a high pitch noise, and it gets louder as I turn the potentiometer proportionally, but the motor simply will not even try to turn. I cannot turn the shaft at all so the motor has holding torque, but it just will not turn. So then I hooked the 34 up to the smaller driver I used in another project, the same one that I used to turn the nema 23, and the system works great, but just stalls in high rpm, about 100, and has little torque which I suspect is from the lack of amperage from the smaller driver… but I could be wrong of course. Anyways, I then tested the voltage that the arduino is sending to the ENA, PUL, and DIR ports on the driver, and it was around 2.3 volts. So I read the little manual from the driver, and it mentioned requiring 4-5 volts… so I suspected that could definitely be the problem but at this point I just have no idea. I messed with the code settings and the microstep settings and also the amp settings but nothing I did resulted in the motor actually turning. Another question I have is the map function in the arduino code… I understand its purpose and that it takes a range from the potentiometer, but I