Stepper motor Torque problem!

Hi folks!

Currently im using a Nema 24 stepper motor 3.1N.m torque

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Nema-24-Stepper-Motor-3-1Nm-3A-8-wire-8mm-Dual-Shaft-CNC-Mill-Lathe-Laser-Router-/171828613085

with an Easydriver stepper motor controller ( 150-750mA/phase) + 24V 5A power supply.

Should i buy a better stepper motor driver since the Easydriver only supply (150-750mA/phase)?

Does the current effect the torque of the Nema 24?

Should i increase the voltage supply to 48V for maximum performance?

Sorry im a newbie with stepper motor and i want my Nema24 run at maximum performance else i have to get another stepper motor, much appreciate if you guys can give me a hint.

You need a stepper driver that can comfortably supply the current required by the motor. A driver for a 3 amp motor will be a lot more expensive than an Easydriver. Google "stepper driver 4 amps" (or 5 amps).

The current is what determines the torque, Higher voltages allow the torque to be maintained at higher speeds.

I am suprised that it is referred to as Nema24. I thought the standard sizes are 17, 23 and 34.

...R Stepper Motor Basics Simple Stepper Code

I am surprised that it is referred to as Nema24. I thought the standard sizes are 17, 23 and 34

Indeed, also new to me.

Checking their website the standard NEMA23 comes with 57x57mm and the NEMA24 with 60x60mm framesize.

Ooh, NEMA 24 is new to me too... Probably a post-rationalization of another motor standard.

Anyway, back to the plot: What are you wanting to do with a motor? Have you any idea about how to choose/size a motor?

Thanks so much for the info guys, i've have bought the new driver + 48V power supply

MarkT: Ooh, NEMA 24 is new to me too... Probably a post-rationalization of another motor standard.

Anyway, back to the plot: What are you wanting to do with a motor? Have you any idea about how to choose/size a motor?