Stepper Motor

I have found several discussions about controlling stepper motors with Arduino. What I need it the ability to change the stepper motor speed using a pot, and also change the direction of the motor.

I want to do the following:

Control rotation direction with a simple switch.
Change the speed with a potentiometer and a foot controller from an old singer sewing machine. The pot will be used to set maximum speed and the foot pedal will be used to change the speed from 0 to the max set by the pot. The foot pedal is digital, two wires.

I am thinking all of this is pretty easy to do, I am a Computer Consultant and can program pretty well. Just never worked with hardware interfaces before, so this is a new area.

Thanks for any help/direction.

Hi,
Couple things:

Some How-to HERE: (see last example code: speed changes, direction changes..

Foot Pedal: Do you have details of the interface?? 2 wires do what??

Have a look at the code in these examples Simple Stepper Code. They should illustrate the basics of how a stepper motor is controlled.

Your direction switch can be used to change the value of the direction variable.

Your footpedal can be used to change the value of the interval between steps - which is what controls the speed.

You may also want to look at the AccelStepper library.

...R

What actual speed do you want the motor to run at? A lot will depend on your motor driver, supply voltage and ramping up and down. As well as the mechanical load the motor is under.
Many people expect it is easy to get a stepping motor to turn fast but it is a challenge.

depending on what you are doing you may not need a stepper motor perhaps a geared dc motor that can easily reverse direction or plain old dc motor. Steppers are better with incremental rotation like half turn forward 1/4 turn back etc.

Or look into a continuous rotation servo motor. Very easy to control direction and speed!

terryking228: