Stepper motors, LCD, and networking...? Need a gameplan.

OK, I am completely new to the whole Arduino concepts. In my first forum post, I mistook the Arduino as a chip rather than a board (controller), which was an accident. I know it's not a single chip, but works all together as one unit.

On to the madness...

I want to connect 2 stepper motors, an LCD (2x16), and connect it to a computer for controls. I want a program of some sort to export two numbers to some file format, that are sent to the 'chip' to change one motor and the other (line one of file is first motor, line two is second motor), all while reading out those numerical values to the LCD on separate lines, and relay back to the computer when the move is complete. It would also need to figure out where it was to move accordingly, and have limits (say, 359 degrees) and a home position (when reset, all motor turn to home position).

I have no idea what Arduino to buy (considering UNO), what motors to buy, how to program it, how to wire it... Basically everything. I don't know what to start with.

If anyone can give some advice of what I need to buy to start out and a gameplan of how to accomplish this, I would be very grateful!

There are many choices of 16x2 LCD. The stepper motors will depend on how heave a load you want to move and how quickly you want to move it. You will need motor drivers for the steppers and some kind of switch or sensor for each to detect the 'home' position. Communication with the PC will happen over the USB cable.

Use the LiquidCrystal library to control the LCD.

Use the Stepper library to control the stepper motors.

Try the examples for those libraries to learn how to use them.