Stepper program single trigger program help request

Good morning ladies and gent. I have taken Robin2 code for controlling a stepper and tried to modify it. Attached here is the modification. It is on a Arduino Uno and yes i am using pull up resistor. What i want to happen is when the clockwise button is pressed it will run the stepper output portion of the program and cycle it 80 times or 80 pulses, then will stop. However the issue i am having is when i press the button, it does run the 80 cycles but then it just keeps repeating the cycle as long as the button is pressed. I was trying to use P as my lock out so that button is pressed and it will only do the cycle 1 time till the button is released and repressed. I have put the scope on my input to make sure it was not toggling, i even tried connecting the input directly to ground. But alas nothing. Maybe there is a better way to accomplish this, like i said i am fairly new to this and figured it cant be much more difficult than PLC. So anyway without further ado here is my code.

// this version uses millis() to manage timing rather than delay()
// and the movement is determined by a pair of momentary push switches
// press one and it turns CW, press the other and it turns CCW

byte directionPin = 9;
byte stepPin = 8;

byte buttonCWpin = 10;
byte buttonCCWpin = 11;

boolean buttonCWpressed = false;
boolean buttonCCWpressed = false;

byte ledPin = 13;
int p = 0
unsigned long curMillis;
unsigned long prevStepMillis = 0;
unsigned long millisBetweenSteps = 25; // milliseconds

void setup() {

Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial.println("Starting Stepper Demo with millis()");

pinMode(directionPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(stepPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);

pinMode(buttonCWpin, INPUT_PULLUP);
  pinMode(buttonCCWpin, INPUT_PULLUP);

}

void loop() {

curMillis = millis();
	readButtons();
	actOnButtons();

}

void readButtons() {

buttonCCWpressed = false;
	buttonCWpressed = false;