Stepper> robotbase dual HBridge>

Hi All, My background is Electronic Servicing, I once built what possibly was the first Micro Controller project using a Motorola Mc6801L, what a hoot! - However I am completely new to some things Arduino, for example, I have several stepper motors BiPolar in the main, There are many projects I would like to complete, No1 on my plate is a solarpanel rotater to keep the panel always facing squarely towards the Sun, not so much of a task!! but I can't find any instructions for- nor can I work out how to interface my Duemilanove Board to the RobotBase Dual H-Bridge I have, :-? Kiwijor.

This might be a silly question, but, why did you buy a "RobotBase Dual H-Bridge" if you had no idea whether it would work with the Arduino?

Do you have a link to this thing, or do you expect us to do all the work?

The unit was advertised as a L298 Dual H-Bridge Motor Driver - you can see it at http://www.seeedstudio.com/depot/l298-dual-hbridge-motor-driver-p-284.html

It’s not a case of “the unit can’t work with Arduino”, it’s a case of I can’t find any details of how to set it up so it works with Arduino,

I thought there might be some bright guy out there who has had experience with this particular unit. I have written to SeeedStudio, but received no reply.

Hmmm, documentation is poor, doesn't explain the pin-outs - a little experimentation is needed - note it has LEDs to show the H-bridge state so it shouldn't be hard to find out by trial and error without even connecting a motor. Each H-bridge control input is 3-pin, presumably two direction inputs and ground?

presumably two direction inputs and ground?

With three inputs, wouldn't that imply direction (forward/backward), speed (or on/off), and ground?

I'd be willing to bet that each set of pins go to the inputs on the L298 chip and the appropriate enable, and the "logic ground" is shared with the Arduino's ground, of course.

See the datasheet for the L298 here: