Stepper running

So I have my steppers running. I am just learning how to run them for a project I have in mind. But I am finding they have a lot of vibration. Is that normal for stepper motors?

Thanks.

Yes.

jremington:
Yes.

I was afraind of that. Is there any way to minimize it, or do I just live with it?

Thanks

You can use a microstepping driver to reduce vibration, and also avoid resonances (at certain speeds).

Stepper Motor Basics
Simple Stepper Code

...R

Thanks everyone. Seems microstepping is what I will have to use for one of the applications I want to apply this all too.

Again, many thanks for the concise to the point information.

Picked up some A4988 controllers a while back and hooked them up. Only question I have is can I use the USB connected to my computer as the power supply for the Arduino, or do I need a separate power source.

ov10fac:
Picked up some A4988 controllers a while back and hooked them up. Only question I have is can I use the USB connected to my computer as the power supply for the Arduino, or do I need a separate power source.

You can certainly power the Arduino that way. But there must be a separate power supply for the stepper motors.

...R

Steppers without microstepping have appauling noise and vibration, that's why they are not driven that way any more. [ in industry ]

MarkT:
Steppers without microstepping have appauling noise and vibration, that's why they are not driven that way any more. [ in industry ]

I know that a certain member of the Forum is regularly criticized for his blunt remarks but there is not need to bring him in to this :slight_smile:

...R

Thanks for the responses. "appauling" must be an inside joke? Anyway, yes I know I need a separate power supply for the motor, and I experienced the noise and vibration which is the reasons for my first post and switching motor controllers.