Still a bit stuck with { }, return and exit.

Yeah, I am going to cop some flack for this, but hey......

I'm still learning.

Brief explanation of my "problem":

C is "different" to BASIC in that you write the code in blocks.
Although this can be likened to "sub-routines" in basic there are differences in how the code is defined.

In BASIC you RETURN from a sub-routine and any values are GLOBAL.

C is very different that variable names are local to that routine and passing variables is done a bit differently.

However, the "blocks" of code.

You start with something like:
(Indulge me)

Routine_name()
{
    //  code here
}

So when I am writing a program it looks like this (sort of):

loop()
{
     // things happen here
     routine_1();

//  a bit more stuff
     routine_2();

// and some more stuff here.
    int(j) = routine_3();
    if(j == 1)
    {
          // what ever
     }
     else
     //  and so on.
}

Now "routine_1" is a bit of code which is used in many places in the "bigger picture" of the code.

It is made into a routine to save space and reduce duplication of lines.
I get that.
But "how" do I write "routine_1" (and others) code?
Hang on!

So, the routine_ would be like I posted above.
It starts with a name and the {
The first line says if it returns a variable by either having an INT, VOID or other prefix.
How it parses variables is done after the name, like this: (for instance)
routine_1(int var_1)
{

Tells it that there is nothing returned and that VAR_1 is given to it.

So: When I an done writing routine_1, how do I "end" it?

Is it simply to "close" off the { }'s?
Or do I "exit"?

Yeah, dumb question, but some one has to ask them.
May as well be me.

a function (routine) as you pointed out can be declared or returns void

void loop()
{
  //code here
}

void someRoutine()
{
  // this function returns no value but runs code here
}

int otherRoutine(int value)
{
  //returns an int
  //expects an int to run (int value)
  return someVariable;
}