stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x01 - suggested solutions already tried

Hello,

I am new to Arduino and I am having significant difficulty connecting to my Uno R3. I am running Windows 10 Technical Preview. Here's what I've done so far:

• Installed Arduino 1.0.6 - installation successful
  • Connected board and installed drivers - installation successful
  • Launched the Arduino IDE and ran Blink - compiled and uploaded successfully
  • Attempted to connect to 2.8" TFT LCD shield, which brought its own problems, but those are not for this thread - had errors in executing test code but code compiled and uploaded successfully
  • Began getting not in sync: resp=0x01 errors consistently on upload - I note that this is a different code than the frequently-cited 0x00 but I do not know what it means
  • Removed shield and attempted to run Blink again - sync error remained
  • Uninstalled Arduino 1.0.6 and drivers, installed Arduino 1.5.8 and reinstalled drivers - once again on COM3, without trouble
  • Tried pressing reset button just before script uploaded - did not solve sync error, I may be doing it wrong
  • Attempted loop-back test, which seems to behave normally

The R3 is connected on COM3 and Uno is selected in the Board menu. It is using the AVRISP MkII programmer, if that makes a difference.

Verbose upload feedback just returns ten attempts to connect, all of which fail with the following:

Using Port                    : COM3
         Using Programmer              : arduino
         Overriding Baud Rate          : 115200
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20] 
avrdude: ser_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 1 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x01
avrdude: ser_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 10 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x01

EDIT: missed a step in my attempts to connect, amended