STM8 for dummies?

Due to a weird turn of events, I need to program on an STM8S003F3 - the program will read an i2c device's output, small analysis and print on an LED display.

I ordered a couple of eval boards and a SWIM interface. One of them I will program to simulate the i2c data source and then I could play with the device I am developing.

However, the really bad part of my situation is that I am a software developer (not even a good one) for x86-64 (ie: "regular computers"), mainly Java server/db stuff...

My "accomplice" :slight_smile: will help with wiring and general hardware stuff but he's not an expert on STM8 and his knowledge stops at MCU's. He can barely program an arduino for a few simple things.

I've done a lot of digging in google and the best I could find is:
http://www.emcu.eu/step-by-step-that-explain-how-to-start-to-develop-a-new-program-on-stm8s/?fbclid=IwAR2BvOZKv1_2GTQ5-ubcOd1cfQo0ehL5hPgj9Z3tIhv1S6OAQbpv8f3edYE

You can see this guy knows what he's talking about but his style is a little too messy for a beginner like me, who doesn't feel very secure as it is...

Could you please advice of any nice resources to learn this thing? I reckon my main problem would be that I don't know the API or routines or whatever you call the primitive methods and data types for programming that chip...

I guess more beginner questions will follow. I hope not to exceed my welcome!

The Arduino ecosystem is a simplified API that was initially applied to AVR processors, but there exists support for Arduino or Arduino-like APIs for processors from a wide variety of manufacturers. The issue in general with non-AVR processors is that drivers for specific external peripherals (e.g. your I2C device) may have to be ported.