STN 2222 Transistors as Switches NOT WORKING...

Hi all...

First of all I'd like to thank this community as a whole for being here, being so vigilant and being so supportive and helpful. I have never asked a question before and that is because I found solutions to almost every problem I faced already discussed in great detail on this forum.

Unfortunately I have to break my silence now...

So, I bought 2 large size seven segment displays and got cheated, I ordered 5 volt displays but they sent me 12 volt ones. Now I can't drive them directly from Arduino or 595, So I studied the forum and found an easy solution Using 2222 Transistors as switches to use external 12 volt supply to power the displays. I bought 20 of STN2222 Transistors and began my experiment, I used 1K resistor on Base and the power adapter for 12 volts is outputting 12 volts and 500 mA. The problem is, I tried three different transistors and triple checked the pinouts to be correct, and still, my display remains ON no matter what the Arduino is putting on the Base pin. Even removing the Base pin completely does not make any difference. The Display is Common Anode so the Vcc is common to all the segments, and I connected the Cathodes of the segments to Collector of 2222 and Emitter goes to Ground of the Supply and all grounds are tied together, but still, LEDs remain ON no matter what I do... What am I doing wrong??? What should I do to make it work???

Thanks in advance to all you good people...

Waiting anxiously for your responses...

Are there current limiting resistors in your circuit ? If not, you will certainly damage the transistor maybe causing it to short circuit.

Yes there are, for both Transistors and LEDs...

Knights1122:
So, I bought 2 large size seven segment displays and got cheated, I ordered 5 volt displays but they sent me 12 volt ones.

Now I can't drive them directly from Arduino or 595,

Large displays always have more than one LED per segment.