Stop existing loop and replacing it with a press of a button.

Hi!
I am very new to programming and fine electronics as well. The only experience I have with electronics beforehand is heavy machinery and that is how I got interested in the Arduino.I realized that I could learn how to control these in the way I want to if I can design my controllers rather than getting multiple different controllers and just using a few function on each making it very expensive.

So I decided to make a small test with an 4x20 LCD screen 2 buttons and the Arduino.
What I want it to preform is a simple task you will get a statement or a question in this case I just used the question “Are you bored?” “Yes/No”.

What happens now is that it flickers when turned on. When i press i button it will show me the next question in line but it will flicker between both at the same time. And what I want it to do is to go to the next question in line until an ultimate verdict is met and then it goes back to the beginning. I just can’t find the right code to use to stop the previous function aka “are you bored?” to move on the next in line depend on my choice. I bet this is real easy when you know what you do, problem is, I don’t

The code:

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>
LiquidCrystal lcd(1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7);
int BUTTON1 = 9;
int BUTTON2 = 8;

void setup() {
lcd.begin (20,4);
}

void loop() {
lcd.clear ();
lcd.setCursor(0,0);
lcd.print(“Are you bored?”);
lcd.setCursor(0,4);
lcd.print(“Yes/No”);

if(digitalRead(BUTTON1) == HIGH) {
lcd.clear ();
lcd.setCursor(0,0);
lcd.print(“Do you have any”);
lcd.setCursor(0,1);
lcd.print(“friends?”);
lcd.setCursor(0,4);
lcd.print(“Yes/No”);
}

if(digitalRead(BUTTON2) == HIGH) {
lcd.clear ();
lcd.setCursor(0,0);
lcd.print(“you are bored!”);
lcd.setCursor(0,1);
lcd.print(“I can tell!”);
lcd.setCursor(0,4);
lcd.print(“Yes/No”);
}

}