Stopping a program, start another, then go back

I'm new to Arduino and taking on a little project. I have a droid that I'm building out of scrap. I want his head to sweep left, right, then stop in the middle. Wait a few, then left, right, stop in the middle again.
To make this more difficult than the regular "sweep" example, I have IR sensors in his chin. I'd like for them to be able to detect motion, stop the sweep program and using the IR, follow movement until it's out of range, then go back to the left to right sweeps.

I see help on multiple sketches in one sketch, but I'm not sure that's exactly what I'm looking for. It would need to actually stop the "sweep" sketch, go to the IR motion detector sketch and when that was invalid (no more movement in front of the IR) it would go back to the sweep program.

Is this beyond the scope of an Arduino Uno?? Again, I'm new to this and maybe not using the correct search terms to find what I'm needing

Look into while loops. "While x is true do y"

For timing don't try to use delay instead look into the millis method which counts the number of milliseconds the Arduino has been running. By recording this to an unsigned long at a given point in your code you can then subtract it from the current time to see how much time had passed. If the desired amount of time has passed then you do something then reset your counter.

Sorry can't give you an example right now because I'm on my handheld computer.

Cheers,
Rhys

If the IR sensor is on the part of the head which rotates, how does it distinguish motion due to targets moving versus motion due to the sensor moving? It's not clear from your description, but maybe the sketch only examines the output of the sensor during the stop in the middle?

You definitely need to read up on the reference section about the control statements, if(), for() and while().

Thanks guys. I've never heard of the "while" statement, so a bit more reading is in order :slight_smile: