Strange Arduino Behavior with the 9 Volt Power Supply

Hello,

I am new to the arduino platform and code, so the answer to this problem may be obvious to you, but not me. I have been powering my arduino project with a 9 volt battery for a while. It worked fine for the passed few days, until today. Whenever I plug in my power supply, I am getting strange behavior. After this, I plugged the arduino into my computer and it worked fine.

What is going on?

Thanks,

I_Got_Pi

Just a guess, but it's possible that your 9V battery isn't a 9V battery anymore; those things have a reputation for not lasting. Measure the voltage if you have a meter: the Vin pin will be at the voltage applied, and so will show the battery voltage while it's under the load of the Arduino).

Or just replace it with a new one and see if that works.

(ps.. what is the "strange behaviour"?)

My project involves a speaker and a ping sensor. It is a simple theremin of some sort. The closer to the ping sensor, the lower the pitch. The problem is, when I plug in my 9V battery, instead of playing the tones according to my hand and the ping sensor, it gives one long, low tone.

Well if it a) used to work with the battery and b) works with the usb it's probably the battery.

Do you have a meter to check it?

I have a multimeter to check it... but how? I am also new to electronics and I can't understand your instructions from your previous post.

Just to let you know, I am using an arduino uno. (If this is helpful)

Well two things…

First, just check the battery when it’s disconnected from everything. Simply set your meter to VDC (Volts Direct Current) and usually there will be ranges like 2VDC or 20VDC… obviously you will need to set it to 20 since 9 > 2.

Sometimes meters don’t say “DC” but have the DC symbol which is like an = sign but with one line dotted. (This is as distinct from Alternating Current which will say AC or have a ~ symbol… AC is what comes out the wall.)