Strange pb with bootloader on ATMega2560 16U

I just started playing with a new Robodyn Mega Pro Mini:
https://idyl.io/2017/06/05/robotdyn-mega-pro-mini-embed-arduino-review/

My board doesn't have the USB connector, just the Serial headers (second pic on the page).

I was able to burn Nick Gammon's atmega2560 bootloader, and the output of his board detector are included below.
After burning the bootloader I can use a Serial to upload a sketch... once :frowning:
The uploaded sketch runs, but any subsequent attempt at using Serial to upload a new sketch fails; in fact I see the uploaded sketch running (let blinks) while the IDE is trying to start the upload.

It could be a reset pb (no DTR pin on the mega so I reset manually) however I can reset the board at the right time 100% of the time if only the bootloader is present.

This could be a pb with the boot reset vector and other fuses impacting what the mega does after resetting, I am a bit vague in that area but here is what I checked:

• the high fuse is a 0xD8: boot reset vector enabled and boot start = 1F000
  • Nick's detector reports "Bootloader is 8192 bytes starting at 3E000" where 3E000 bytes == 1F000 words

... so I'm at a loss at what could be wrong here, any suggestions?
Is there some fuse setting that would cause the board to skip the bootloader and to go directly to the sketch when resetting? Is there a way to check whether this is what's happening?

Thanks!
Franck

Atmega chip detector.
Written by Nick Gammon.
Version 1.20
Compiled on Mar 11 2018 at 15:40:27 with Arduino IDE 10802.
Attempting to enter ICSP programming mode ...
Entered programming mode OK.
Signature = 0x1E 0x98 0x01 
Processor = ATmega2560
Flash memory size = 262144 bytes.
LFuse = 0xFF 
HFuse = 0xD8 
EFuse = 0xFD 
Lock byte = 0xEF 
Clock calibration = 0x8E 
Bootloader in use: Yes
EEPROM preserved through erase: No
Watchdog timer always on: No
Bootloader is 8192 bytes starting at 3E000

Bootloader: