Strange problem with my I2C LCD and "Hello World" Sketch

Hi, I’m very new to this so any help is greatly appreciated. I’m trying the basic “Hello World” program for my LCD and Arduino Uno R3. It seems to be partially working. I say partial because the only thing that it will display is the letter “H”.

This is the Sketch I’m using:

//DFRobot.com
//Compatible with the Arduino IDE 1.0
//Library version:1.1
#include <Wire.h>
#include <LiquidCrystal_I2C.h>

LiquidCrystal_I2C lcd(0x3F,16,2); // set the LCD address to 0x3F for a 16 chars and 2 line display

void setup()
{
lcd.init(); // initialize the lcd

// Print a message to the LCD.
lcd.backlight();
lcd.print(“Hello, world!”);

}

void loop()
{
}

I’ve searched the forums and had no luck finding an answer to this. Any suggestions are appreciated!

Upon further searching, I found some threads that seem to cover this.

hi,

i made a projekt with I2C Display's.

since then, a couple of month have gone.

last time i worked with Ardiuno IDE 1.5.4, used the one of the first LiquidCrystal library's.

Now i have new Projekt, a new Display that's a bit diffrend from my first and the same Problem like you.

It show's only the first character - "H" from Hello.

To solve this, you have to update the IDE.

Remove all old or wrong librarys -> LiquidCrystal_I2C

download the latest library (NewliquidCrystal_1.3.4.zip) from

https://bitbucket.org/fmalpartida/new-liquidcrystal/downloads

Import it via IDE -> ADD ZIP Library

you can find this all at

http://arduino-info.wikispaces.com/LCD-Blue-I2C

now try the example

and it works.

THX @ fmalpartida for this great work

Yes, there is a similar discussion going on elsewhere.
One thing I just noticed - the constructor used in this case has SPI address and display size - columns X rows.
The one used in the other discussion has different parterres passed to it - address and the I/O pins of the piggyback converter.