string compare problems

this string does not work

char MSG_ON = "turn on led";

if (strcmp(smsbuffer, MSG_ON) == 0) digitalWrite(8, HIGH);

whats its suppose to be doing;
turn on a led

i have done hours of testing and i came to strcmp value changes every time i upload a new sketch although the smsbuffer and the MSG_ON are exactly the same

Is smsbuffer a zero terminated array of chars ?
Can you print it ?
Print an identifying character immediately before and after it so that you can see any spaces before or after it.

I suggested nearly the same thing in the original thread.

i think so im not exactly sure what u mean

yes i can print it (the smsbuffer right)

what do u mean by last question?

im kinda new to this sorry

could u give me an example? that would make my day

If strcmp fails, then your smsbuffer and MSG_ON, are most definitely NOT the same. Nobody her can help you figure out what is really happening. YOU need to look at the exact contents, and LENGTHS, of both strings. They ARE different! This is NOT a bug in strcmp.

Print them both, like this, and the REAL problem will be obvious:

Serial.print("smsbuffer=[");
Serial.print(smsbuffer);
Serial.print("] length=");
Serial.println(strlen(smsbuffer));

Serial.print("MSG_ON=[");
Serial.print(MSG_ON);
Serial.print("] length=");
Serial.println(strlen(MSG_ON));

Regards,
Ray L.

hooverdan:
i think so im not exactly sure what u mean

https://www.tutorialspoint.com/cprogramming/c_strings.htm

this is what i got

smsbuffer=[turn on led] length=12

MSG_ON=[turn on led] length=11

so now i know the lengths are different but what now

again i am pretty new to this.

so how do i fix it i tried putting char MSG_ON = "turn on led\0"; but that didn't work

hooverdan:
this is what i got

smsbuffer=[turn on led] length=12

MSG_ON=[turn on led] length=11

so now i know the lengths are different but what now

again i am pretty new to this.