string identifier

hey there, i hope its ok to ask :)

im working on a project which requires a screen, so im using an ssd1306 and the adafruit gfx lib, im sending text from max to the teensy and all works great. the things is, that i would like to send different strings to the screen and control them independently so im guessing i need to put a header infront of each string and unpack it in the arduino side and send it to the right place. im pretty new to the arduino so im not sure whats the best way to do this, i looked at the examples and saw "startsWith" . could this be used for something like this?

could anyone advise me on how to do so?

thanks!

Hi welcome to the forum

There are examples coming with the library and on the internet. What have you looked at and tried?

hey there, thanks for the super fast reply, i actually didnt find string specific examples but i was probably not looking very good either, could you maybe refer me to some?

edit, i looked at the arduino strings examples but could not find any string identifying examples except of startWith which im not sure is the way to go?

thanks

This is coming with the library as setup documentation and this is on github and a small Google on “SSD1306 arduino example” returns tons of ideas such as that one... plenty to start from

thanks again! perhaps i was not clear, i already figured out how to use the screen and display text and graphics, my problem is much more basic, i would like to use Serial.readString(); and read different strigs and send them to different places in the code, thats why i think i need a header and im not sure how to go about this?

To read strings from serial have a look at Serial Input Basics
You acquire a message and then decide where to display