struggling to find relevant fet

i'm trying to use an arduino to control a 12v supply (using PMW), which is coming from a pc psu. it's for a model railway.

i've tried to use a transistor but it 'leaks', and i realise i need something meatier.

i've never used a mosfet before, and i really don't know how to pick a relevant one. could someone give me a hint?

i usually use bitsbox for supplies as they do low volume: http://www.bitsbox.co.uk/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=140_151_154

are there other appropriate methods i should think about instead of a fet?

You need to provide actual information if you want a question like this answered:

What is the PSU current rating - what current does the full load take?

What PWM frequency do you need?

What transistor did you try using and what does "it leaks" mean? What circuit did you use?

You probably need high-side fast switching here to give efficient PWM, which indicates a p-channel MOSFET driven by either an NPN driver (perhaps too slow), or a MOSFET driver (fast, max efficiency).

You need to know the maximum steady load current to work out the power dissipation, using the on-resistance of the MOSFET. Ignore the current rating of a MOSFET, that's irrelevant unless you are water-cooling the device since its an absolute maximum power dissipation parameter in reality. Calculate power = I-squared-R to decide what going to be practical. You might need a heatsink, factor that in.

sorry for the lack of detail.

The normal power supply for the train set is 19v 0.5a (that's what it says on the plug), and the train didn't seem to run any faster than that when running on 12v from the pc psu. i don't know how to measure maximum load.

i used a bc546b transistor, which google tells me is an NPN amplifier transistor, and i also tried a 2n2222a. by 'leaked' i mean that the train ran regardless of whether anything was going on at the gate of the transistor - though it moves slowly.