Stuck in Loop, Among other things....

Hello all!
I am having some problems with piece of software I am trying to get to work. I'm a manufacturing engineer, so all of this is a little bit foreign to me. And we're on a skeleton crew, so this got delegated to me, ha.

I am making an optical bonding station that includes a few switches, valves, and relays. The program is pretty basic and doesn't need to do much, but I'm having some issues. So this basic idea of the program is, it checks two switch inputs to initiate the process (lid switch and start button). Once those switches are made, the RUN indicator, and the vac valve go HIGH... Once proper vac has been achieved, the vac switch goes HIGH and we activate the air cylinder (press) and turn the vac valve OFF. Once the micro sees the bottom cylinder switch go HIGH (the cylinder is down), there is a 5 sec delay to allow the bonding to take place. After the delay, the air valve is turned OFF and the cylinder goes back up, the top cylinder switch (cylSwitch1) then goes HIGH (the cylinder is in the up position). Lastly, once the cylSwitch1 goes HIGH, we actuate the vacuum release valve and turn the RUN indicator OFF. End program.

I have two problems with the code though..

1. cylSwitch1 is HIGH the entire program, except when it goes down to press the optical material. So when the program begin, the cylSwitch1 input is HIGH, and the code skips over everything before it and actuates the vacuum release valve. I tried setting the pin to an output up until the switch is read, and then switching it back, but that did not seem to help anything.