Stuck - Please Help

Okay - I'm a complete nOOb with programming - at least since high school some 20+yrs ago! HA!
For whatever reason what I want to do sounds simple but I just cannot wrap my brain around it and haven't been able to get it to work.

I'm running a stepper motor CCW until it trips a switch (pin8). Once at that position I want to rotate CW 10 steps. And this needs to happen once at the start of the program. Once that is done it will not need to be done again unless the program restarts. Although I will probably write in a resetbutton switch that will force the program to re-run that section of code.

Simple; I think it is.. But why can I not seem to understand getting it to work?

Anyone have any ideas? Pointers? Sample code?!? LOL

thanks!

HI,
Post the code you have and explain what its doing wrong.

What stepper motor do you have?
What stepper motor driver do you have?
What model Arduino do you have?

Tom… :slight_smile:

ac5ff:
Okay - I'm a complete nOOb with programming - at least since high school some 20+yrs ago! HA!
For whatever reason what I want to do sounds simple but I just cannot wrap my brain around it and haven't been able to get it to work.

I'm running a stepper motor CCW until it trips a switch (pin8). Once at that position I want to rotate CW 10 steps. And this needs to happen once at the start of the program. Once that is done it will not need to be done again unless the program restarts. Although I will probably write in a resetbutton switch that will force the program to re-run that section of code.

Simple; I think it is.. But why can I not seem to understand getting it to work?

Anyone have any ideas? Pointers? Sample code?!? LOL

thanks!

uint8_t motorHome; // C clears the vars to zero each time program starts

if (motorHome == 0) { // if var is zero then motor was not zeroed yet
    // rotate motor to limit switch
    motorHome = 1; // flag "motor is homed"
}

See what happens here?