student project help - proximity or IR sensor to control motor

Hello,

I am new to the site and pretty much brand new to Arduino, except for taking a couple classes at the local maker shop.

I am a student I am trying to get something done for a presentation. This is part of an idea and I was hoping to use an Arduino to show it.

I have searched a lot but I am not sure I am getting the correct information for exactly what I want to try to do, so I figured I would just ask.

I would like to use a proximity sensor to control a motor (stepper or servo). So as something gets closer the motor turns but has a limit to how far it will go. I would also be interest in (just not my first choice but would like to compare) just a IR as the switch, again with a motor location limit

If anyone could direct me to the code and/or a diagram, parts that would be wonderful.

Thank you for any help.
Matthew

matthew_turner:
I would like to use a proximity sensor to control a motor (.....servo).

That's exactly what this guy did with his automated Pez dispenser.

JimboZA:
That's exactly what this guy did with his automated Pez dispenser.

Thanks.

I am probably completely wrong but isn't the power of a Ultrasonic Distance Sensor HC-SR04 is that you can control the amount based on the distance from it, not just start and stop?

At least that is what I was hoping for. Control the throw of the motor with the distance from the sensor.

If so, is there a benefit to use this sensor instead of a IR switch for just on/off?

Thanks again!

That sensor gives you the actual distance, yep, not just "near" vs " not near".

Whether or not that's a benefit to you, only you can say: sounds like you want to position something based on the actual distance and you could certainly do that.

JimboZA:
That sensor gives you the actual distance, yep, not just "near" vs " not near".