Student Project Help

Hi Guys,

I was originally going to post this under “Programming Questions” but I think this falls under “holy crap I need a lot of guidance, not just in the programming.” I’m in my final year of my High School (secondary school) education and I’m in the Engineering program here under Project Lead The Way (PLTW). Our final project is basically to build a device that does something and solves a problem. I won’t go too much into it as that is not important, however after researching and contacting those at our local university, they pointed us to Arduino as the micro-controller for our device.

Here’s what our goal is for our device:

1. Device is turned on
  2. Device begins a countdown from a random number within a certain range
  3. Once 0 is reached the device sounds a buzzer and a light begins to flash. A second timer begins to count down from a smaller number
  4. If the reset button is pressed, the whole device will reset.
  5. If the reset button is not pressed by the time the second timer hits 0, a different sound will play and the light will flash more rapidly.
  6. This will loop continuously until the device is switched off.

The overall idea seems very simple to me, but I lack the knowledge of the language to code this. I began searching around and found some of the example code’s and tried to compile some of these puzzle pieces to at least give me a start. However as of now I honestly have no idea how to link them together.

Can any of you be of any assistance?

Here is the code/websites I found:

BLINKING LIGHT
// the setup function runs once when you press reset or power the board
void setup() {
  // initialize digital pin 13 as an output.
  pinMode(13, OUTPUT);
}

// the loop function runs over and over again forever
void loop() {
  digitalWrite(13, HIGH);   // turn the LED on (HIGH is the voltage level)
  delay(1000);              // wait for a second
  digitalWrite(13, LOW);    // turn the LED off by making the voltage LOW