Stumped trying to figure out timers (400 Hz)

This is my first time dealing with Arduino.

I need to convert a 0 - 5 Volt analog signal into a 400 Hz PWM signal with a duty cycle matching the input voltage (so 5V input would result in 100% duty cycle).

I have access to an Arduino Nano board and thought it would be super simple to implement this idea, just need to read voltage from an analog pin and calculate the duty cycle for the PWM.

Turns out I need to adjust the PWM frequency, and I have to say working with "timers" has me completely stumped. The rest of the Arduino programming language seems simple and straight forward, but I simply cannot wrap my head around the Eldritch horror that is timer configuration. I need help.

This is the code I have right now:

int pinvolt = 0;                                    // Declare input voltage variable
int dutyc = 0;                                      // Declare calculated duty cycle variable

void setup() {
  pinMode(9, OUTPUT);                               // Set digital pin 9 (D9) to an output
  ????????
}

void loop() {
  pinvolt = analogRead(A0)+1;                       //reads voltage on pin A0
  dutyc = ((pinvolt*256)/1024)-1;                   //calculates correct duty cycle % (0-255)
  analogWrite(9, dutyc);                            //sets the output to the calculated duty cycle
}

I think my loop should get the job done, but only if the PWM output is running at 400 Hz.

I believe I need to set up the timers in the "setup" area, but I have no idea how to approach this. I've read tons of forum posts all over the web dealing with frequency adjustments on Arduino PWM but they're always super complex issues from people trying to build quadcopters and whatnot, the more I read the more confused I get. It seems there's multiple ways to do it but every post seems written under the assumption the reader fully understands timer configuration.