Submarine control - Steering servo motors and Motor contollers

Hi to anyone that might be able to help!
I am a complete newby to electronics. my background is in mechanics so I need help. I have been told that the Arduino boards/gear can solve my problem with the help of the forum, i hope this is true!

I am building a one man submarine. It will be running a 12v system. The thrusters will be able to rotate for direction around a 180 degree range. There are two thrusters.
I have 180kg/cm servo motors to control the rotation of the truster motors (pictures attached)
The thrusters are 400w trolling motors.

What I want to be able to do is control the two servo motors individually off two small thumb joystick potentiometers as you had on your game controller Arduino board. I would want neutral to be horizontal on the thrusters, back on the joystick will be down on the thrusters, and forward would be up on the thrusters moving through 90 degrees each way.
Something like this? http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/252A103B60NA/252A103B60NA-ND/303390
On the Arduino Duo board?

I also want to be able to control the motors with a trigger mechanism. I would want to pull the trigger to move the thrusters forward and push the trigger away to go back (trigger will have a finger hole in it. This can be a normal potentiometer i orientate sideways and 3d print a trigger. Alternatively, I could use a 0-100% pot and then have a push button reverse which operates 100%. Obviously I will have less control like this but it would work and might be easier.

I have now spoken to and visited many shops and no one seems to be able to help me. I would be great if you could help me which what hardware to purchase and from where and then after that we could program this assuming it’s an Arduino board. I am happy if the motor controllers are a separate system (I assume this is easier/better). Any help or advise will be appreciated.

Mike

photo 1.jpg

photo 2.jpg