Suggestions for RGB LED Ambient Lighting with MSGEQ7

Hello all,

First off: I'm a noob. I am totally new to the Arduino hardware, software, etc. I've only played with Arduino for about 45 minutes in my whole life, lol. However, I have done a little bit of tinkering with electronics and built a few really basic things like turn signals for my bike, and a portable iPhone charger.

My goal is to build an ambient lighting system for my car that pulses/flashes/changes color based on the frequency. Here's what I know so far:

• My Arduino of choice is the Uno
  • I'll be using an MSGEQ7 chip for analyzing the audio frequencies
  • I want to use this program, but possibly slightly modified to include more red than blue (as it is now)
  • I want to power it using the car battery
  • I'll use 12V RGB LED strips

My main question is about powering the setup from the car battery. I'm pretty sure the Uno has a built-in voltage regulator for knocking the 12v down to 5v, but I read somewhere about filtering the power because it could damage the board. Also, I'm not sure about powering the LED strips; are they powered directly from the board, or do I need a separate +12v line for them? Or do I need to use some sort of external LED driver? I'm not trying to control them individually, I just want to control a total of around 2-4 meters of LED.

Thanks in advance for any help, regarding the power solution or any other suggestions about the project. All help is very much appreciated!
-Adam

The big concern on power is that automotive power is notoriously noisy, and swings between 10v and 15v depending on the state of the battery and what the car is doing. I'm not sure if the 12v LED strips are okay with taking 15v, but if they can't, you'll need a converter.