Suitable resistors for LEDS

Hello, I am new to Arduino and i just bought UNO. I want to light a LED can anyone help me out? Provide some links or something...? As I have seen i need a resistor. What exactly must i buy? How much Ohm?

thank you very much!
Billys

220 Ohm is a good value for your first LEDs.

fungus:
220 Ohm is a good value for your first LEDs.

Thank you for the response. Less Ohm will burn the leds? More Ohm is not necesary?

Hello xmarkx,
Welcome to the community. :slight_smile:
Have a look at it.

V = I*R
(5-0.7) = .020 * R
R = 4.3/0.020
R = 215 Ohms

V= applied voltage
0.7 = approx voltage drop due to diode
I = Current flowing through the circuit (20 mA = 0.020 A is more than enough to lit an LED)
R = The resistance we are looking for
Read the link & go for the #3 book.

Here is the download link - http://www.demar.eel.usp.br/eletronica/aulas/Electronic_self-teaching_guide.pdf
Hope it helps.
Cheers.

LEDs are more in the 2.5-3.5 range, depending on color.

@nightcrawler218

The current produced by the pin is 40mA atleast on UNO. Look at the Summary section here

In this case, wouldnt the resistance value then change to
4.3/0.040 = 107.5 ohms

Yes, The information you gave is true. But the fact is that the maximum current that each pin can provide is UPTO 40 mA. The overall impedance/resistance of a circuit will determine the amount of current to be conducted through the circuit.

You have Vf of the LED too low.

And 40mA is absolute MAX, after which damage to the IO transistors can occur.
Keep it safe at 20mA per the datasheet notes in Section 29.

hudu:
@nightcrawler218

The current produced by the pin is 40mA atleast on UNO. Look at the Summary section here
http://arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoBoardUno

In this case, wouldnt the resistance value then change to
4.3/0.040 = 107.5 ohms

No, 40mA is the absolute maximum you should source or sink.
Don't get close to this number, and consider 30mA as a more sensible maximum

nightcrawler218: