Supply power to ESP8226 with a phone external battery

Is it possible to power this esp8266 board (D1 Mini NodeMcu) with this external phone battery?

The battery provides a 5V current. There is a 5V pin on the esp8266 board. How should I connect the two? Do I risk smoking my esp8266?

with USB cable

Cut a USB cable and use the Red (+) and Black (-) wires to power your 5V device. Leave the data wires unconnected. The ESP8266 is a 3.3V device so the "5V" pin typically goes to a small 3.3V regulator, like the device marked "4A20" near the 5V pin.

johnwasser:
Cut a USB cable and use the Red (+) and Black (-) wires to power your 5V device. Leave the data wires unconnected. The ESP8266 is a 3.3V device so the "5V" pin typically goes to a small 3.3V regulator, like the device marked "4A20" near the 5V pin.

why? the Wemos has a mini usb connector

Juraj:
why? the Wemos has a mini usb connector

I’m new to this and I am confused about something: I thought this USB cable was for connecting the device to a computer to be able to program it (with the Arduino IDE for example). Is it also possible to just plug it to an external battery to simply provide power to the device?

Yes.

Yes you can just plug the USB cable to that socket. It's connected to the on board regulator.

But fair chance it won't work for long: those phone charging batteries have the habit of switching off the output when the power draw is too low (the 300-400 mA drawn by a small air pump is not enough to keep mine active).

wvmarle:
Yes you can just plug the USB cable to that socket. It’s connected to the on board regulator.

But fair chance it won’t work for long: those phone charging batteries have the habit of switching off the output when the power draw is too low (the 300-400 mA drawn by a small air pump is not enough to keep mine active).

That’s very good to know. I’m working on my super-low power consumption project (foosball game detector).