Surenoo RGB I2C LCD - unstable i2c communication [solved]

Long story short: I have bought this Surenoo RGB I2C LCD and it works unreliable. It seems that after a period of time (10 minutes) the I2C bus hangs and the code freezes.

the short question is: does someone know this Sureeno display and has a working library to share with me?

Long: I have some experience with i2c LCDs, but this LCD drives me crazy.

The display has an AIP31068L (close to the HD44780, but timing parameters differ for shure), the RGB LEDs are driven by a PCA9633

The i2c scanner sees both adresses the display @ 0x3E , the RGB IC @ 0x60 (and the 0x03 - works as designed).

As far as I understand the datasheet, the display should be used in 8bit mode.

I have tested the - DF Robot Libray - Grove Library - The HD44780 from Perry with the constructor hd44780_I2Clcd lcd(i2c_addr)

I get these unstability with all 3 libraries. So I suspect the display is somehow more different than expected.

The i2cdiag reports the pullup resistors are existing if the display is connected. The behaviour doesn't change if I add two extra 10K resistors.

Therefore I modified the low lewel i2c send of DFF Robot to see, what' happening on the I2C Bus. learnings: - only the LCD i2c communication produces errors. - Error codes from Wire.endTransmission() are 2 and 3. If I get an error 4 - the sketch stops. - the errors occures during text mode (starting with 0x40) and command mode (starting with 0x80), - i never see communication errors when talking to the RGB chip

Datasheet of Display http://surenoo.tech/download/01_SLC/1602/SLC1602LO.pdf?spm=a2g0s.imconversation.0.0.751b3e5fbkQ0Q9&file=SLC1602LO.pdf Suggested Library from vendor https://wiki.dfrobot.com/Gravity__I2C_16x2_Arduino_LCD_with_RGB_Font_Display_SKU__DFR0554?spm=a2g0s.imconversation.0.0.751b3e5fbkQ0Q9