Suspect 1st Problem is I bought a cheap clone... LOL

Hi Guys…

I have an associate degree in Electronics that I received when I first got out of school (15 years ago!)… but I never put it to real use because I went into IT (Computer Repair). Anyways I always was interested in the ARDUINO micro controllers but as I am injured and unemployed I couldn’t really afford the kits. When I saw that I could get one from china direct for a couple of bucks I jumped on it. Thinking back on it I always advised my clients NOT to do this; BECAUSE you will spend more time trying to solve stupid issues and TIME is money (indirectly). Knowing this I bought TWO of them, LOL. Stupid, eh?

In my defense I have ordered other items thru the website and rarely had any problems…

Having said that, I SUSPECT I have a LEMON on my hands, but I am also out of my area of expertise so I thought I would consult with some experts before I put anymore energy into it one way or another. Perhaps if I document this well I can help the poor sucker who followed my mistake or better yet keep another from buying one in the first place.

Here is a couple things I noticed that had me scratching my head … I will put #'s to them so should you respond you can tag it with the #.

#1 Driver issues and Documentation. < SOLVED!

Clones have plenty of DRIVER ISSUES … And NO Documentation.

After banging my head on the wall for a while, I figured out that my Uno board uses a “odd driver”…
You guys helped me solve that indirectly by posting the solution for another user. Thank you!

http://www.winchiphead.com/download/CH341/CH341SER.ZIP

I bought a couple accessories and again if it wasn’t for other sites documentation I would be dead in the water. They don’t even label the packages.

# 2 Unable to consistently upload sketches to my uno…