Suspected problem with variable scope.

Hi,

I’m trying to write a sketch that will turn on an led when an IR sensor reads above a certain value. My problem is coming when trying to introduce a calibration where a limit is set using an ambient reading of IR. Currently the LED is always staying on whereas if i manually change the limit to a value of 350 for example it is working as intended (i.e turning on when an IR source is brought near the sensor). I think that the problem may be something to do with the scope of “limit” variable. I’m still very new to Arduino and C and would appreciate any help someone could give.

My code is:

int led = 2;                 //LED A1 to digital pin 2
int sensor = 0;             //Readings from sensor A1 to analog pin 0
int limit;

void setup()
{
  pinMode(led, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(led, LOW);                  //set the LEDs in off mode (initial condition)
  Serial.begin(9600);                      //setting serial monitor at a default baud rate of 9600

int calibration = analogRead(sensor);    //taking calibration readings of ambient IR
  int limit = calibration + 300;           //creating limits of ambient IR + 300

}
void loop()
{
  int val = analogRead(sensor);

if (val >= limit) {              //If sensor reading is greater than the limit
    digitalWrite(led, HIGH);      //LED will be in ON state
    delay(20);
  }
  else if (val < limit)            //If sensor reading is lower than the limit
  {
    digitalWrite(led, LOW);         //LED will be in OFF state
    delay(20);
  }
}

Thanks!

int led = 2;                 //LED A1 to digital pin 2
int sensor = 0;             //Readings from sensor A1 to analog pin 0
int limit;   ///////////  The scope of this one is fine

void setup()
{
  pinMode(led, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(led, LOW);                  //set the LEDs in off mode (initial condition)
  Serial.begin(9600);                      //setting serial monitor at a default baud rate of 9600