Sweep Example Issues

Hey there. So, I’m very new to the world of Arduinos.

I’m currently in a Controls class in college and we have a project due in 6 weeks. Essentially we have to make a light detecting satellite utilizing a motor and a 5" radius disk, and a laser pointer. The disc has to rotate anywhere between 0-180 degrees and has to point a laser at a target in line with the light. We’ve got the Arduino Uno Rev 3 Ultimate Starter Kit, a standard RadioShack servo (4.8-6.0V), a RadioShack LDR pack, and an external battery pack (4 AA’s).

So, as practice, we’ve been trying to set up examples that we believe will be useful. We’ve tried quite a few different servo codes and none of them have worked. We need a consistent fluent motion and we’ve been getting a step-like response. For example, on the Sweep Example that’s supposed to have the servo oscillate between 0-180 degrees, the servo is starting at 0 degrees, stepping slowly till it reaches 180 degrees and stopping. This happens when the power to the servo is hooked up to the Arduino. When the power to the servo is hooked up to the battery pack, it doesn’t do anything. It only moves when the battery pack is first hooked up. Our professor says we need to hook up a spring to the disc, giving the servo a resistance, but I’m not sure that’s the solution.

I’m really stumped. Everyone in my group knows very little about coding and electrical hardware. We’ve got about six weeks till we need a working “satellite” and are trying to learn as much as possible now so that we can have a halfway decent project when it’s due. Thank you for your help.

/* Sweep
 by BARRAGAN <http://barraganstudio.com> 
 This example code is in the public domain.

modified 8 Nov 2013
 by Scott Fitzgerald
 http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/Sweep
*/ 

#include <Servo.h> 

Servo myservo;  // create servo object to control a servo 
                // twelve servo objects can be created on most boards