switch to connect devices

Im new to arduino and circuit development so please forgive me for not being up on the lingo, or if this is a dumb question (yes i have googled for it but im not even sure if im searching for the right thing)

I have several devices that are accessed by a serial console cable and I would like to create a switch that connect each device together dynamically

Some things are sensors that connect to a server, but i want to change the server it is connected to for testing, which is why i want to be able to connect any device to any device.

Im just not sure what to use, is there a single chip that can handle switching like this? do i use relays or transistors?

here is a example of what im trying to accomplish

device 1 to device 5 device 2 to device 6 device 3 to device 4 or dev 1 to dev 2 dev 3 to dev 5® dev 4 to dev 6

thanks for your help

The answer, as always, is "it depends what you want to do and spend".

"several" is a bit vague.

Is this just a test jig that will be scrapped after use, or something you will use again and again?

Relays are probably cheapest and easiest but for large values of "several", their numbers can get unmanageable.

Is it literally "any device to any other device", or is there an underlying hierarchy?

Depending on signal levels, you may be able to get away with analogue switches.

devices that are accessed by a serial console cable

I assume that these are RS232 level signals we are talking about. One thing to consider is if it is just the signal lines (TX & RX) that need connecting or is it the handshaking lines as well. If so is it all of them because it then gets complex.

Anyway the best bet would be to take the signals down to TTL levels with a MAX232, do a cross point matrix switch and then back up to RS232 levels. Then you can route the signals by controlling the switches on the matrix.