Switches to control volume

Hi, I am new to arduino and processing. I have a very a basic knowledge of code and a little bit better knowledge of wiring. So I apologize for my ignorance.

What I want to do is use multiple switches to control the volume of sound coming out of a speaker. The general idea is to attach the switches to seats and depending on the number of switches pressed (i.e. people sitting in the chairs) the volume of sound coming out of the speaker gets louder.

Eventually I would like to have the switches turn on lights as well. Perhaps even have the sound coming out of the speaker visualized as text on the screen using Processing.

Could anyone point me in the right direction? I know how to wire a switch to turn on a light, however I don't know how to use the switch to turn sound on and make it progressively louder as more switches are pressed.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

How many seats are we talking about?

You could just make a circuit that connects another resistor in parallel with a known voltage divider.. for each 10k resistor thats added to the circuit the total resistance will go down..

1 / RTOTAL = (1 / R1) + (1 / R2) + (1 / R3) + ...

If you have 5 resistors @ 10k connected in parallel you get 2k Ohms

If you have 100 resistor @ 10k connected in parallel you get 100 Ohms

Use the analogRead-function to read the voltage, and you get a value that increases with each button thats pressed...

Or you could sample the switch values and then use that value to set the wiper position of a digital potentiometer chip that served as the volume control of your audio amplifier.

Thanks for the tips. Sorry for not responding sooner.

Those are very good suggestions, but my problem lies more in the coding side than the way to achieve it physically. Do you know where there would be some sample codes I could piece together to get something resembling what I’m looking for?

Thank you! :slight_smile: