Switching Circuit Using MOSFETs

Hi guys,

Please refer to the image attached(Both MOSFETs are N channel).

MOSFET used: http://pdf1.alldatasheet.com/datasheet-pdf/view/171118/STMICROELECTRONICS/P36NF06L.html

Will this circuit work at the first place?

Desired operating condition:

1. When MOSFET 1 is close( MOSFET 2 is open), the capacitor will be charged up.
  2. When capacitor is charged up, MOSFET 1 will be opened and MOSFET 2 closes. (Load charged up by the capacitor)

I have built the circuit as attached.

Problem:

When MOSFET 1 closes, the capacitor AS WELL AS THE LOAD charged up to the same voltage as battery. (Supposingly, only capacitor will be charged up). FYI, I am using Arduino UNO to give a 5V across Vgs to turn on the MOSFET.

Please advice or suggest any better solution for this switching application.

Thank you in advance.

That looks like it will work, but why? And what are you trying to do? Charge a battery? I’m not an expert on battery charging, but that looks like an odd way to do it…

Problem:

When MOSFET 1 closes, the capacitor AS WELL AS THE LOAD charged up to the same voltage as battery.

If you’re getting voltage across the load, obviously MSOFTET 2 is not turned off. (If the load is “light” such as only having a multimeter attached, you might get leakage through the MOSFET, but with any reasonable load there should be no voltage on the load with MOSFET 2 off.)

A couple of notes -

If the capacitor is discharged, you’ll get an inrush of current (whatever the source can provide) as the capacitor charges-up. Your battery/power supply might not “like” that, and the voltage will probably drop momentairly. If you are powering the Arduino from the same battery/power supply, that voltage drop could glitch or reset the Arduino.

The capacitor will begin to discharge as soon as the load is connected.

You’ll get an approximate 0.7V drop across each diode.

Thanks for your fast reply DVDdoug.