Switching on DC loads through LCD menu?

Hello.

I am fairly new to arduino, mostly done some examples with led's and easy project like that on my Arduino UNO.
Now i want to challenge myself with a project that i want to combine in a FPV-project that i am doing.

What i want to do:

Use a arduino to display a menu on a LCD where i can choose to power on two different DC loads (12V)

When i first plug in the battery to the "system", i want it to display a simple menu.
Something like this:

Welcome     
LCD[ON]  Vid[ON]

from this menu i can switch on, two separate 12V loads (a 9" monitor, and a video reciever), using push-buttons.

The loads are 12V and draw something like 100mA up to 1A at the most!

My questions:

*What is the difference between a serial enabled LCD, and a standard (exept for the connections), is it easier to use the serial enabled, or vice versa?

*What should i use for switching my loads? a relay, or can i use something like a MOSFET?
I looked at this: SparkFun Beefcake Relay Control Kit (Ver. 2.0) - KIT-13815 - SparkFun Electronics is this what i need?

*I looked at this Serial Enabled LCD Kit from SparkFun, and it has it own ATMega328 on the back.
Is it possible for me to use this as the main controller, and connect the buttons and relays to this and run everything from this without the need for a separate arduino?

Please point me in the right direction and contribute with your ideas! :slight_smile:

Regards
Christopher

What is the difference between a serial enabled LCD, and a standard (exept for the connections), is it easier to use the serial enabled, or vice versa?

The number of necessary pins on the Arduino. The serial enabled LCDs have a separate processor (often an ATmega or something similar) that converts the serial commands into the parallel instructions the Hitachi chipset understands.

What should i use for switching my loads? a relay, or can i use something like a MOSFET?