Switching

Hello I’m new to arduino and I’m trying to develop a project as follows:
I want to be able to use momentary push buttons to latch 64 switches low or high by alternate pushes of the button.

I want to store and recall any combination of the button states into 99 memory stores via store / recall buttons
I need to select any memory store up and down again with up / down buttons and display to a two digit LED display.
I need a connection diagram…I suspect using the shift in shift out approach, and I need to know how to program this…anyone out there that can help ??

I need to know what programming you have done on this so far. I need to know how the switches will be wired.

Not just him we all need to know this.

YOU need to read ALL of the how to use this forum sticky post for advice on how to ask a question correctly.

Note we give advice here we do not write code for you.

Are the switches real switches?- as in physical things that you click? Not sure how a push button (which is presumably a different physical artefact from the switch) could latch a switch. Or is the switch more of a "flag", a simple binary memory location, a boolean variable, that's stored as on or off?

You could store the state of the switches in a loooong number where each bit is a switch, then store 99 versions of that. But I think the longest Arduino variable is 32 bits.

Meantime have a look at this.

No the longest is 64 bits, a long long variable type.

Grumpy_Mike: No the longest is 64 bits, a long long variable type.

Ok, I'll have to take your word for that Mike (as always...) since I don't see that listed.

edit... tested and yep long long compiles. Where's that documented?

The project requires physical push button (momentary switches) to latch outputs high or low on alternate pushing of the switch.

No code has been written yet…I have no idea how to start…just needed a nod in the right direction :)

The nod is to google the words addressable latch